Digga D has finally released his highly anticipated mixtape Made In The Pyrex, in which the drill artist gifts us with 13 fire tracks.

Ladbroke Grove’s very own Digga D has released his second project, Made In The Pyrex, two years after the release of Double Tap Diaries. The drill artist has shot to fame since some of his earlier work with Mixtape Madness, where he freestyled in an episode of their Next Up series, and dropped ‘No Diet‘ which received 22 million views on YouTube.

Despite the obvious talent that Digga D boasts, it is a well known fact that he has had run ins with the law on multiple occasions. This was highlighted in a documentary called ‘Defending Digga D‘ on BBC Three. Although Digga D is one of the first rappers to have a court order (issued against him in 2018, restricting the subjects he can mention in his lyrics), the young drill artist still strives to make music.

The 20-year-old had been teasing fans for months with the popular releases of ‘Woi‘, ‘Chingy‘, ‘Bringing It Back‘ featuring AJ Tracey, and then ‘Toxic‘, a song that he previewed on a Instagram live, which is included on the Bonus Track mixtape. He also released ‘Bluuwuu‘ a few hours before the release of the mixtape.

made in the pyrex Track List

  1. Intro
  2. Bluuwuu
  3. Chingy (It’s Whatever)
  4. Bringing It Back – AJ Tracey
  5. No Chorus – M1llionz
  6. Woi
  7. Clout Is Killing My People
  8. Folknew – Sav’o, ZK
  9. My Brucky
  10. Gun Man Sound
  11. Window
  12. Trust Issues (I’m Joking I Trust My Mum)

Digga D eases us into the mixtape with his Intro, a short one minute track. Towards the end of this, we can hear the drill artist preview some vocals.

Further into the mixtape we hear more of the Digga D we are familiar with. He has teamed up with some other great artists for the mixtape, for instance in track 5 No Chorus, where Digga D and Brum town’s finest M1llionz murder the beat bouncing off one another.

Digga D, also known as Rhys Herbert, breaks up his mixtape with a 43 second track titled Clout Is Killing My People. Following on, Track 8 sees Digga team up with fellow West Londoners Sav’o and ZK for Folknem. The artists, who are all a part of drill collective CGM, showcase their flows over a haunting beat.

Made In The Pyrex represents Digga D’s come up and the exploration into his own sound. Throughout the record, he presents a new sound that the audience may not have heard him delve into before. Track 11 Window sees Digga incorporate a Dancehall vibe, possibly taking inspiration from Dancehall legends such as Vybz Kartel and Mavado.

Throughout Made In The Pyrex Digga D stays true to his roots, incorporating his signature catchy element into each track. Refreshingly, it was nice to hear the Drill artist combine dancehall into his sound, something we are starting to hear more from other artists, such as M1llionz.

Let us know what you think of Made In The Pyrex and which track is your favourite @pieradio!